Windup - Wayne Peterson

Windup (1997) – Wayne Peterson (b. 1927)
C.F. Peters, published 2010

Wayne Peterson studied composition at the University of Minnesota. He taught at San Francisco State for three decades. Through the course of his career he was a Guggenheim Fellow, a Fulbright Scholar, and received a commission from the Koussevitzky Foundation. In 1992 he won the Pulitzer Prize for The Face of the Night, The Heart of the Dark.

Windup showcases a quartet’s virtuosity through its rhythmically complex chromaticism and a wide range of textures. A gradual surging sensation carries the listener through the piece as the tempo and excitement builds. The difficulty of the piece arises from the heavily intertwined counterpoint, the use of complex polyrhythm and polymeter, and carefully dictated changes of tempo.

To hear the piece:
Rascher Saxophone Quartet, America
BIS, Sweden, 1998

Peterson’s other works for saxophone: And the Winds Shall Blow (1994) for saxophone quartet, winds and percussion